CHASING GHOSTS Read more [...]
Rudd House is a typical example of a residence built for the wealthy during the 19th century. The building is surrounded by verandahs and is lavishly furnished. It boasts a billiard room with a full-size billiard table, still in excellent condition.
Outside the house is a gigantic fig tree with its characteristic thick roots showing above ground level.
This house, then known as “The Bungalow”, was built in the late 1880’s. The core dates back to 1888 with only four rooms.
In 1896 it was bought by the mining magnate Charles Dunnell Rudd, who passed it to his son, Henry Percy Rudd, in 1898. He built on extensively during his 50 year residence.
In 1971 it was donated to the McGregor Museum by De Beers Consolidated Mines Ltd. and restored to its former glory.
Today it is a period house museum (part of the McGregor Museum) reflecting something of the lavish lifestyles enjoyed by the diamond magnates of a bygone era. Visits can be made by appointment through the McGregor Museum.
R40.00pp – Adults
R20.00pp – Children
100% Local: Yes/1Premium Company: -Service Excellence Promise: -Local Grading: -